The Smiths

Bild Quelle:

  • indie
  • 80s
  • new wave
  • alternative
  • post-punk
The Smiths were an alternative rock band which formed in 1982 in Manchester, England. The band consisted of Steven Morrissey (vocals, lyrics), Johnny Marr (guitar, music), Mike Joyce (drums) and Andy Rourke (bass). Hugely influential, The Smiths lasted all of five years from 1982 to 1987, releasing during this period four studio albums (The Smiths, Meat Is Murder, The Queen Is Dead and Strangeways, Here We Come) and three compilation albums (Hatful of Hollow, The World Won't Listen and Louder Than Bombs).

Mehr Informationen...


Meat Is Murder (1987)
Strangeways, Here We Come (1987)
The Queen Is Dead (1986)
The Smiths (1984)
[non-album tracks]


Sweet and Tender Hooligan (1995)
How Soon Is Now? (1992)
There Is a Light That Never Goes Out (1992)
This Charming Man (1992)
The Headmaster Ritual (1988)
William, It Was Really Nothing (1988)
Girlfriend in a Coma (1987)
I Started Something I Couldn't Finish (1987)
Last Night I Dreamt That Somebody Loved Me (1987)
Sheila Take a Bow (1987)
Stop Me If You Think You've Heard This One Before (1987)
William, It Was Really Nothing / How Soon Is Now (1987)
Ask (1986)
Panic (1986)
Shoplifters of the World Unite (1986)
Some Girls Are Bigger Than Others (1986)
Barbarism Begins at Home / Shakespeare's Sister (1985)
Shakespeare's Sister (1985)
That Joke Isn't Funny Anymore (1985)
The Boy With the Thorn in His Side (1985)
Hand in Glove (1984)
Heaven Knows I'm Miserable Now (1984)
Still Ill (1984)
What Difference Does It Make (1984)
What Difference Does It Make? (1984)